Equatorial Guinea

Equatorial Guinea is one of the smallest countries in the continent of Africa, it is the only country in Africa to use Spanish as its official language. Official languages are used in countries where many different ethnic languages are spoken by the people.

Although Equatorial Guinea is small, there are 18 different languages spoken there! Because many children will speak a different languages at home, in school they are taught Spanish. Official languages are used so that all people of a country can communicate together. Listen out for these Spanish words as the children below from Equatorial Guinea sing together their Mission Together hymn.

Enviados – we are sent

En el nombre – in the name of

El Señor – The Lord

Mi amigo – my friend